Halal Selection

Subscribe to RSS Feed

4 Items

per page
Set Descending Direction
  1. Oatein Starter Pack (18 Pack)
    New to Oatein or just want to have a try of all our snacks? Our Oatein Starter Pack is the perfect way to try all our protein-packed bars. With 18 bars for only £20, figuring out your favourite will be your hardest decision! 
    Rating:
    100%
    £20.00
  2. Oatein Millionaire Crunch (12 Pack)
    Cheat, not cheat? Utterly decadent, the Millionaire Crunch is the perfect guilt-free, low-sugar, delight!
    Rating:
    98%
    £15.99
  3. Oatein Flapjack (15 Pack)
    A healthy fusion of hearty rolled, jumbo & toasted oats and whey protein makes for a wholesome and delicious flapjack rich in fibre, protein and Low-GI Carbohydrates to keep you powered after a hard workout!
    Rating:
    100%
    £11.99
  4. Oatein Brownie (12 Pack)
    Is there anything better than a Brownie? How about an Oatein Brownie. Thought so.  Packed full of delicious, nutritious oats, each brownie contains 15g of protein, making it the perfect healthy alternative to your typical supermarket treat.  Here’s a top trick from the team here at Oatein - we think our brownies are even better after 10-15 seconds in the microwave. Give them a quick blast and enjoy the ultimate creamy, guilt-free snack. The perfect way to treat yourself after smashing it at the gym, on the bike or after exercise. 
    Rating:
    100%
    £12.99

4 Items

per page
Set Descending Direction

HALAL CERTIFIED PROTEIN

At Oatein we value all of our customers, and try to meet the nutritional needs of as broad an audience as possible. That’s why we’ve worked with the Halal Trust to independently audit and certify Oatein products as being halal.

Is Whey Protein Halal?

Whey protein (and other protein types) is an important tool in dieting and increasing protein synthesis (building muscle). However there is some debate over whether whey protein is halal.

There are a number of reasons why Whey Protein or protein bars might be considered haram. While we’re not going to delve in the exact specifics (we don’t feel like we’re experts on what is or what isn’t halal or haram) here is an rough outline.

  • Rennet/Pepsin - Rennet is an organic enzyme derived from the stomachs of calves and goats. Pepsin is a similar enzyme that originates in pigs. Rennet is sometimes used in the production of whey to curdle the milk. Oatein whey is produced using artificial enzymes which avoids this issue entirely.
  • Use of alcohol in the production process - No, Oatein bars won’t get you drunk, and no they don’t contain booze! Alcohol is sometimes used in producing whey or protein bars to neutralise off-flavours. It’s removed completely after this process and doesn’t exist in the product afterwards.

The following Oatein products have received their halal Certification by the Halal Trust
Oatein Cookie - All Flavours Oatein Flapjacks - All Flavours halal trust
Oatein Brownie - All Flavours Oatein Low Sugar Protein Bar - All flavours
Oatein Oats and Whey Protein - All Flavours Oatein Low Sugar Flapjacks

Oatein Halal Range